LIFE is a DANCE if you take the STEPS. This is my DANCE. The story of my LIFE.

Dancing is moving to the music without stepping on anyone's toes, pretty much the same as life.

My Unwanted Vacation

on December 5, 2012

For the first time in my life, I was hospitalized not because of pregnancy. I was admitted for 4 days (October 27-31) due to Systematic Viral Infection or what is commonly known as trangkaso. Yes, I was hospitalized due to trangkaso. We actually thought it was Dengue because of the symptoms. Thankfully I was discharged 2 days before our flight to Iloilo.

After our 9 days vacation in Iloilo, I went back to work. I went straight to my makeup class after we arrived in Manila. I had been very busy with my regular office work, makeup class and dance rehearsals. I also had a 3 day training that week. On the night of the 2nd Dance Elimination, I started to have fever;  But It didn’t stop me from dancing and helping my co dancers do they makeup.

The next day, Saturday, it was the 3rd day that I experienced flank pain on my right side with fever. When Mike checked my temperature it was already 39c and I was already having chills and vomiting followed. I slept for 2 hours and when I woke up, I was still not feeling well. So, Mike rushed me to the ER (Emergency Room). My temperature went up to 40c and I needed pain reliever to ease the pain. When the nurse asked me to collect a small amount of urine for my urinalysis, they found out that there was a visible blood in my urine. I’d been monitoring this case for about a year already. Before, the blood can only be seen through a microscope.

I fell asleep inside the ER and when I woke up, I was advised that I needed to be admitted due to infection. I had a serious case of Complicated UTI that caused my kidneys to swell.

I had Acute Pyelonephritis.

Credits from: http://emedicine.medscape.com/article/245559-overview

Acute pyelonephritis is a potentially organ and/or life-threatening infection that characteristically causes scarring of the kidney. An episode of acute pyelonephritis may lead to significant renal damage; kidney failure; abscess formation (eg, nephric, perinephric); sepsis; or sepsis syndrome, septic shock, and multiorgan system failure. 

Diagnosing and managing acute pyelonephritis is not always straightforward. Wide variation exists in the clinical presentation, severity, options, and disposition of the disease. 

Patients in the age range of 5-65 years typically present with lower urinary tract infection (UTI) symptoms (eg, dysuria, frequency, urgency, gross hematuria, suprapubic pain) and classic upper UTI symptoms (eg, flank pain, back pain), with or without systemic signs and symptoms (eg, fever, chills, abdominal pain, nausea, vomiting, costovertebral angle tenderness) and with or without leukocytosis. However, acute pyelonephritis can present as nonspecific symptoms. 

Acute pyelonephritis is complex, and there is no consistent set of signs and symptoms that is both sensitive and specific for the diagnosis. Therefore, clinicians must maintain a high index of suspicion. 

Mike was supposed to start training on his new job. But because of what happened, he decided not to go through with the training. I felt guilty because I was the reason why he didn’t attend the training. 

Ouch moments
I stayed at the hospital for 8 days and Mike has been always by my side. He was there when I was in pain. He became my personal nurse. =) I know It’s a husband’s duty to take care of his wife.  But what Mike did was beyond that.  Maybe It was God’s way of telling me that he was the right person for me. That he is the only man who can give me that “Unconditional Love”. I may be sick those days, felt a lot of pain. But I was so lucky because I have my husband beside me.
Leave a Reply

